

PPTA TE WEHENGARUA ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2024

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT: REGIONAL NAME CHANGE (CANTERBURY)

A PAPER FROM THE PPTA CANTERBURY REGION



PPTA Te Wehengarua | PO Box 2119, Wellington 6140 | **p**. +64 4 384 9964 | **e**. <u>enquiries@ppta.org.nz</u> File Number. G/E/AC/2024



CONTENTS

RECO	MMENDATIONS	2
1.	BACKGROUND	5

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1 That the paper be received.
- 2 That rule 21 (i) be changed from:

21. (i) Any group of Branches in the same geographical area may by notice to the Secretary apply for registration as a Regional Organisation of the Association and the following Regions shall be the Regions of the Association. (See rule 62 for definition of electoral areas.) Aoraki **Bay of Plenty** Canterbury **Central Plateau** Counties/Manukau East Coast Hauraki Coromandel Hawkes Bay Hutt Valley Manawatu/Whanganui Marlborough Nelson Northland Central Northland Lower Northland Upper Ōtākou Southland Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland including the 4 wards established as electoral areas in terms of rule 62 hereof Taranaki Waikato Wairarapa Wellington West Coast Western Bay of Plenty

TO:

21. (i) Any group of Branches in the same geographical area may by notice to the Secretary apply for registration as a Regional Organisation of the Association and the following Regions shall be the Regions of the Association. (See rule 62 for definition of electoral areas.) Aoraki Bay of Plenty Central Plateau Counties/Manukau East Coast Hauraki Coromandel Hawkes Bay Hutt Valley Manawatu/Whanganui Marlborough Nelson Northland Central Northland Lower Northland Upper Ötākou Southland Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland including the 4 wards established as electoral areas in terms of rule 62 hereof Taranaki Waikato Waitaha Canterbury Wairarapa Wellington West Coast Western Bay of Plenty

3. That rule 62 (i) be changed from:

62. (i) For the purpose of these Rules the following Electoral Areas are hereby constituted: (see rule 21 for definition of Regions)

(a) Northland Upper, Central and Lower

(b) Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland: the 4 Wards of the Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Region subject to the boundaries for those Wards being ratified by the Executive

(c) Counties/Manukau

(d) Waikato

(e) Hauraki Coromandel/Western Bay of Plenty

- (f) Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau
- (g) Manawatu-Whanganui
- (h) Taranaki
- (i) Hawkes Bay/East Coast
- (j) Hutt Valley/Wairarapa
- (k) Wellington/Marlborough
- (I) Nelson/West Coast
- (m) Canterbury
- (n) Aoraki
- (o) Ōtākou
- (p) Southland

TO:

62. (i) For the purpose of these Rules the following Electoral Areas are hereby constituted: (see rule 21 for definition of Regions)

(a) Northland Upper, Central and Lower

(b) Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland: the 4 Wards of the Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Region subject to the boundaries for those Wards being ratified by the Executive

(c) Counties/Manukau

(d) Waikato

(e) Hauraki Coromandel/Western Bay of Plenty

(f) Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau

(g) Manawatu-Whanganui

(h) Taranaki

(i) Hawkes Bay/East Coast

- (j) Hutt Valley/Wairarapa
- (k) Wellington/Marlborough

(I) Nelson/West Coast

(m) Waitaha Canterbury

(n) Aoraki (o) Ōtākou (p) Southland

1. BACKGROUND

- 1.1 "Tribal traditions tell us that Waitaha's founding ancestor, Rākaihautū, departed with his people from their ancient homeland Te-patunui-o-āio (also known as Hawaiki). His canoe Uruao eventually beached at Whakatū (Nelson), at the top of the South Island. Once landed, Rākaihautū and his people set about consecrating the land with the mauri or spiritual essence of their ancestors. They also imposed their whakapapa (genealogy) on the plants, animals and natural features of the land."
- 1.2 During the exploration of Te Waipounamu, the Rākaihautū and his party travelled along the West Coast and there discovered many of the great lakes of Te Waipounamu. Rākaihautū then met up with his son, Rakihouia, and his travelling party in South Canterbury. Following the challenges of crossing mountain ranges, making their way through dense forests, and summitting the rugged ridges of Otago and Southland, they rejoiced in the ease of travel along the edges of the Canterbury Plains. It was the joyful march of reunion along the plains which led to them being named 'Kā Pākihi Whakatekateka o Waitaha', 'The open plains where Waitaha walked proudly.' Pākihi is an area where no trees grow and 'whakatekateka' is an archaic term meaning 'to create pride or to exhibit pleasure'. Another view is that whakatekateka has a different meaning of 'seedbed' which offers the translation, 'The treeless seedbed of Waitaha', referring to the region where the tribe first settled and multiplied.
- 1.3 After the colonisation of Te Waipounamu by Waitaha, Ngāti Māmoe and Ngāi Tahu soon followed. Through warfare, intermarriage and political alliances, a common allegiance to Ngāi Tahu was forged.
- 1.4 "There was no rugged New Zealand pioneering in the naming of Canterbury. The Church of England wanted to establish "a specifically Church of England colony" and the Canterbury Association was formed to give reality to a dream. When the association's first ships sailed into Port Cooper, soon to be re-named Port Victoria and later Lyttelton, Canterbury was already named after "our ecclesiastical mother.""
- 1.5 Waitaha Canterbury encapsulates the full name of *Kā Pākihi Whakatekateka o Waitaha* and recognises the duel naming of rohe approach adopted by Ngāi Tahu since the Ngāi Tahu Claims Settlement Act of 1998.
- 1.6 Tāmaki Makaurau has encouraged other regions to make use of C16/71/25, which was an item tabled at the 2016 annual conference moving that "Te Huarahi and National Executive review the names of regions and wards and titles of elected representatives of the Association to affirm and advance Te Tiriti o Waitangi (the Treaty of Waitangi) as embodied in the First Schedule of the PPTA Constitution".
- 1.7 The Ōtākou region passed a similar paper at Conference in 2023.
- 1.8 The name Waitaha is already formally used within PPTA Te Wehengarua to indicate the geographical region which the Canterbury PPTA represents, such as Ngā Manu Kōrero, hui for Reo-ā-rohe, Te Huarahi, and informally by the Canterbury Regional Committee.
- 1.9 The use of the Māori name reflects support of the language strategy and aspirations of mana whenua, Ngāi Tahu.
- 1.10 The Canterbury regional committee has considered this name change, and discussed the move with our representatives of Ngāi Tahu.

1.11 It is with the support and consideration from 1.8 that the Canterbury Region proposes its name be changed from "Canterbury", to "Waitaha Canterbury".