

PPTA TE WEHENGARUA ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2024

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT: REGIONAL NAME CHANGE (WEST COAST)

A PAPER FROM THE PPTA WEST COAST REGION







CONTENTS

| RECO | MMENDATIONS | 2 |
|------|-------------|---|
| | | |
| 1 | BACKGROUND | 5 |

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1 That the paper be received.
- 2 That rule 21 (i) be changed from:
 - 21. (i) Any group of Branches in the same geographical area may by notice to the Secretary apply for registration as a Regional Organisation of the Association and the following Regions shall be the Regions of the Association. (See rule 62 for definition of electoral areas.)

Aoraki

Bay of Plenty

Canterbury

Central Plateau

Counties/Manukau

East Coast

Hauraki Coromandel

Hawkes Bay

Hutt Valley

Manawatu/Whanganui

Marlborough

Nelson

Northland Central

Northland Lower

Northland Upper

Ōtākou

Southland

Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland including the 4 wards established as electoral areas in terms of rule 62 hereof

Taranaki

Waikato

Wairarapa

Wellington

West Coast

Western Bay of Plenty

TO:

21. (i) Any group of Branches in the same geographical area may by notice to the Secretary apply for registration as a Regional Organisation of the Association and the following Regions shall be the Regions of the Association. (See rule 62 for definition of electoral areas.)

Aoraki

Bay of Plenty

Canterbury

Central Plateau

Counties/Manukau

East Coast

Hauraki Coromandel

Hawkes Bay

Hutt Valley

Manawatu/Whanganui

Marlborough

Nelson

Northland Central

Northland Lower

Northland Upper

Ōtākou

Southland

Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland including the 4 wards established as electoral areas in terms of rule 62 hereof

Taranaki

Waikato

Wairarapa

Wellington

Te Tai o Poutini West Coast

Western Bay of Plenty

- 3. That rule 62 (i) be changed from:
- 62. (i) For the purpose of these Rules the following Electoral Areas are hereby constituted: (see rule 21 for definition of Regions)
- (a) Northland Upper, Central and Lower
- (b) Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland: the 4 Wards of the Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Region subject to the boundaries for those Wards being ratified by the Executive
- (c) Counties/Manukau
- (d) Waikato
- (e) Hauraki Coromandel/Western Bay of Plenty
- (f) Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau
- (g) Manawatu-Whanganui
- (h) Taranaki
- (i) Hawkes Bay/East Coast
- (j) Hutt Valley/Wairarapa
- (k) Wellington/Marlborough
- (I) Nelson/West Coast
- (m) Canterbury
- (n) Aoraki
- (o) Ōtākou
- (p) Southland

TO:

- 62. (i) For the purpose of these Rules the following Electoral Areas are hereby constituted: (see rule 21 for definition of Regions)
- (a) Northland Upper, Central and Lower
- (b) Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland: the 4 Wards of the Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Region subject to the boundaries for those Wards being ratified by the Executive
- (c) Counties/Manukau
- (d) Waikato
- (e) Hauraki Coromandel/Western Bay of Plenty
- (f) Bay of Plenty/Central Plateau
- (g) Manawatu-Whanganui
- (h) Taranaki
- (i) Hawkes Bay/East Coast
- (j) Hutt Valley/Wairarapa

- (k) Wellington/Marlborough(l) Nelson/Te Tai o Poutini West Coast
- (m) Canterbury
- (n) Aoraki (o) Ōtākou
- (p) Southland

1. BACKGROUND

- 1.1 Originally the West Coast area "was split between Nelson and Canterbury provinces, with the boundary along the Grey River/Māwheranui." In late 1867, the central government created the County of Westland, which became Westland province in 1873. The northern part of the West Coast (Buller) remained part of Nelson until provincial governments were abolished in 1876. The Anglicanised naming of the West Coast has been a fluid identity since its inception and does not accurately capture or represent the history or the important features of the region.
- 1.2 "Te Tai o Poutini" is the significant name of the area, which spans from Hari Hari (South Westland Area School) in the south, to Karamea (Karamea Area School) to the north, and east to Reefton (Reefton Area School). A local purākau tells of the Taniwha, Poutini, who swims up and down the West Coast and up and down its rivers, causing the ebbing and flowing of the tides. Te Tai o Poutini means The Tides of Poutini, which affect all of the area currently known as The West Coast.² Today, Te Tai o Poutini is more widely recognised within our region as the name for the area west of the Kā Tiritiri-o-te-Moana (Southern Alps). The name already is widely used in the region. The name of our local Polytechnic is Tai Poutini Polytechnic³; Te Waka Kotahi use the name for our area⁴, and our local district plan is named the Te Tai o Poutini plan⁵.
- 1.3 In 2016 the region formerly known as Thames Valley became Hauraki Coromandel, in recognition of the customary place name used by tangata whenua and the geographical feature of the area. "Tāmaki Makaurau" became the name of the Auckland region in 2018, in a paper which also included the renaming of the wards to appropriate bicultural names.
- 1.4 Tāmaki Makaurau has encouraged other regions to make use of C16/71/25, which is an item tabled at the 2016 annual conference moving that "Te Huarahi and National Executive review the names of regions and wards and titles of elected representatives of the Association to affirm and advance Te Tiriti o Waitangi (the Treaty of Waitangi) as embodied in the First Schedule of the PPTA Constitution".
- 1.5 The West Coast region has not been represented by a Te Huarahi representative resident in West Coast for many years. Our current Te Tau Ihu o te Waka a Māui representative lives in Nelson. This has likely been the reason why there was no forthcoming action upon the motion from 1.4.
- 1.6 The name Te Tai o Poutini is already informally used within PPTA Te Wehengarua to indicate the geographical region which the West Coast PPTA represents, such as on our banner on Strike Action days.
- 1.7 The use of the Māori name reflects support of the language strategy and aspirations of mana whenua, Kāi Tahu.

¹ https://teara.govt.nz/en/west-coast-region/page-7

 $^{{}^2\}text{https://www.linz.govt.nz/our-work/new-zealand-geographic-board/place-name-stories/maori-oral-history-atlas/poutini-guardiantaniwha}$

³ https://tpp.ac.nz/

⁴https://www.nzta.govt.nz/planning-and-investment/planning/arataki/national-and-regional-directions/regional-directions/west-coast/

⁵ https://ttpp.nz/

- 1.8 The West Coast regional committee has considered this name change, and we decided to seek support from the members as a whole. We raised it as an idea at our Family Fun Day in November 2023. We also raised it at both of our PUMs in May 2024. All feedback was positive and there were no negative comments. This has been taken as support from the regional membership to formally propose the renaming of our region within the PPTA Constitution.
- 1.9 It is with the support and consideration from 1.8 that the West Coast region proposes its name be changed from "West Coast", to "Te Tai o Poutini West Coast".